The Catholic University of America

Nominations for the 2016 Helen Hayes Awards

Congratulations to our alumni, guest artists, and instructors who have been nominated for the 2016 Helen Hayes Awards!


Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play:
Maggie Erwin (Alum), Rapture, Blister, Burn, Round House Theatre 
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical:
Matthew Dewberry (M.F.A. 2009), Avenue Q, Constellation Theatre Company
Outstanding Choreography in a Play:
Ben Cunis (B.A. 2006), Much Ado About Nothing, Synetic Theater
Outstanding Director of a Play:
Eleanor Holdridge (Head of M.F.A. Directing), Queens Girl in the World, Theatre J
Outstanding Director of a Musical:
Kathryn Chase Bryer (Lecturer), Wiley and the Hairy Men, Imagination Stage
Outstanding Ensemble in a Play:
Megan Reichelt (B.A. 2006), Flying vs Fights: Heroes & Monsters, Flying V
Outstanding Sound Design:
Frank DiSalvo Jr. (M.F.A. 2012),
It’s a Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play, Washington Stage Guild
Very Still & Hard To See, Rorschach Theatre  
The John Aniello Award for Outstanding Emerging Theatre Company:
The Welders featuring Bob Bartlett (M.F.A 2011), Annalisa Dias (M.A. 2015), and
Stephen Spotswood (M.F.A. 2009).